2014 BET Awards Nominees Announced; Chris Rock to Host

Like PopDust on Facebook

The Black Entertainment Television (BET) Awards are set to kick off next month.

The event will take place at Nokia Theater L.A Live in Los Angeles, California and air live on the BET network at 8pm EST on June 29.  With that being said, let's get straight down to business.

Chris Rock is going to host this year's award show.  Heck to the yeah! With him being the host, we know we're set for a good night.

As for nominees for this year's award show, there's twenty categories, including Best Female/Male artist, movie, new artist, gospel artist, and more.  Beyoncé, Jay Z, Jhené Aiko, Chris Brown, Drake, August Alsina and more take the lead in having the most nominations.

And the nominees are...

Best Female R&B/ Pop Artist:


Janelle Monáe

Jhene Aiko



Tamar Braxton

Best Male R&B/ Pop Artist:

August Alsina

Chris Brown

John Legend

Justin Timberlake

Pharrell Williams

Best Group:

A$AP Mob

Daft Punk

Macklemore & Ryan Lewis


Young Money

Best Collaboration:

August Alsina feat. Trinidad Jame$ - "I Luv This"

Beyoncé feat. Jay Z - "Drunk In Love"

Drake feat. Majid Jordan - "Hold On (We're Going Home)"

Jay Z feat. Justin Timberlake - "Holy Grail"

Robin Thicke feat. T.I. and Pharrell Williams - "Blurred Lines"

YG feat Jeezy and Rich Homie Quan - "My Hitta"

Best Male Hip Hop Artist:




Jay Z

Kendrick Lamar

Best Female Hip Hop Artist:

Nicki Minaj

Iggy Azalea


Angel Haze

Charli Baltimore

Video of the Year:

Beyoncé feat. Jay Z - "Drunk in Love"

Pharrell - "Happy"

Chris Brown - "Fine China"

Drake - "Worst Behavior"

Beyoncé - "Partition"

Video Director of the Year:

Benny Boom

Chris Brown

Collin Tilley

Director X

Hype Williams

Best New Artist:

Ariana Grande

August Alsina

Mack Wilds

Rich Homie Quan


Best Gospel Artist:

Erica Campbell

Tye Tribbett

Hezekiah Walker

Donnie McClurkin

Tamela Mann

Best Actress:

Lupita Nyong'o

Oprah Winfrey

Angela Bassett

Gabrielle Union

Kerry Washington

Best Actor:

Chiwetel Ejiofor

Forest Whitaker

Idris Elba

Kevin Hart

Michael B. Jordan

YoungStars Award:

Gabrielle Douglas

Jacob Latimore

Jaden Smith

Keke Palmer


Best Movie:

12 Years A Slave

The Best Man Holiday

Fruitvavle Station

Kevin Hart: Let Me Explain

Lee Daniels': The Butler

Subway Sportsman of the Year:

Blake Griffin

Carmelo Anthony

Floyd Mayweather Jr.

Kevin Durant

Lebron James

Subway Sportswoman of the Year:

Brittney Griner

Lolo Jones

Serena Williams

Skylar Diggins

Venus Williams

Centric Award:

Aloe Blacc - "The Man"

Jennifer Hudson feat. T.I. - "I Can't Describe (The Way I Feel)"

Jhené Aiko - "The Worst"

Liv Warfield - "Why Do You Lie?"

Wale feat. Sam Dew - "LoveHate Thing"

Best International Act: Africa:

Davido (Nigeria)

Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)

Mafikizolo (South Africa)

Sarkodie (Ghana)

Tiwa Savage (Nigeria)

Toofan (Togo)

Best International Act: UK:

Dizzee Rascal


Krept & Konan

Laura Mvula

Rita Ora

Tine Tempah

Coca-Cola Viewers Choice Award: (Vote Here)

Jhené Aiko - "The Worst"

August Alsina feat. Trinidad James - "I Luv This"

Beyonce feat. Jay Z - "Drunk in Love"

Drake - "Worst Behavior"

Pharrell Williams - "Happy"

For a list of winners, the show's highlights, and more, stay tuned to and follow @Popdust on Twitter.

For all things pop culture, follow @vivianxo67 on Twitter.