There are two things going for a Florence and the Machine unplugged album. One, Ceremonials is produced with such pomp and weight that if you shake off the drums and cavernous reverb and everything else that goes into the average track, the effect will be fairly compelling by default. Two, Florence Welch is the sort of vocalist really suited to that sort of setting. Think Adele, who did roughly the same thing with her Royal Albert Hall performances.

The details:

What? A live album recorded at Florence and the Machine's MTV Unplugged session; mostly tracks from Ceremonials/i>, a few of her hits, and covers of Otis Redding's "Try a Little Tenderness" and the standard "Jackson," performed by Johnny Cash and June Carter Cash among others.

When? It'll be released April 9.


1. Only If For A Night

2. Drumming Song

3. Cosmic Love

4. Breaking Down

5. Never Let Me Go

6. Try A Little Tenderness (cover)

7. No Light, No Light

8. Jackson (cover)

9. What The Water Gave Me

10. Dog Days Are Over

11. Shake It Out