We hadn't heard much hype about the release of Oops! I Did It Again: The Best of Britney Spears, Brit's third greatest hits album, which depending on who you believe, is either out next Tuesday (according to Amazon) or came out last Tuesday (according to AllMusic). Maybe that's because as far as greatest hits albums go, this one is a complete mystery—one of the most bizarrely assembled compilations we can remember from a major artist. Not that we expect Brit to really go through and personally handpick and order the tracklists for her own comps, but we expect something that at least follows some basic form of logic—even if it's just "Here's a bunch of my popular songs in a row, enjoy."

No such luck with Oops. It starts with three of Britney's best, best-loved singles—"Oops," "Baby One More Time" and "I Slave 4 U"—and then...a bunch of album tracks that only real fans would know. Not that that's a bad thing, necessarily—it'd be pretty cool if more major artists released a non-hits Best-Of to expose casual fans to the discography beyond the biggest songs—but then why the first three singles? Why nothing off last year's Femme Fatale, which had some of her best album tracks yet? Why her cover of The Jets' "You Got It All," which wasn't even that good a song the first time around?

If this is indeed just a "Hey this person on the X Factor has a bunch of old songs!" cash-in, somebody needs to explain to Camden International Records (?) a thing or two about the art of the cash-in hits comp. And if you can only afford to pay for three hits, maybe next time don't bother at all.

Complete Tracklist:

1. Oops!…I Did It Again

2. …Baby One More Time

3. I’m a Slave 4 U

4. Born to Make You Happy

5. Cinderella

6. Brave New Girl

7. The Hook Up

8. Don’t Hang Up

9. One Kiss from You

10. Anticipating

11. What It’s Like to Be Me

12. My Baby

13. Out from Under

14. You Got It All

15. Showdown

16. That’s Where You Take Me