Aerosmith rocker Steven Tyler and country newcomer Kelsea Ballerini were on hand this morning (Sept. 8) to announce the nominees for the 49th CMA Awards live on Good Morning America. Bright-eyed (and hopped up on caffeine), the singers took to the podium and first revealed nominees in five of the biggest categories, including Female Vocalist of the Year and Entertainer of the Year. Tyler then performed his first-ever country song Love is Your Name, the lead-in to his country debut record.

Following Tyler's performance, he joined Ballerini to finish revealing the long list of nominees across the board. "Newcomer" Chris Stapleton—a long-time accomplished songwriter in Nashville; credits include Luke Bryan's Drink a Beer, Thomas Rhett's Crash and Burn, Josh Turner's Your Man, more—earned early nominations in New Artist of the Year and Album of the Year (for his acclaimed Traveller debut). Kenny Chesney also landed in the latter category for The Big Revival (anchored by smash hit American Kids), as well as in the Entertainer of the Year field, which was rounded out by Miranda Lambert, Garth Brooks, Bryan and Eric Church. Little Big Town waltzes away with a whopping six nominations, as does the outlaw Church. Chesney follows with five (Note: technically, he leads with seven, if you account for two producer credits); Lambert, Kacey Musgraves (producer credit for album) and Stapleton (four); and Hunt (three).

Of course, newcomer Ballerini was giddy with delight when her name was called for New Artist, hot off the No. 1 success of her debut single Love Me Like You Mean It. Her follow-up Dibs (from her The First Time debut album) is currently climbing the charts. New Artist also includes Sam Hunt, Rhett and duo Maddie & Tae (who made headlines last summer with their bro-country kiss-off Girl in a Country Song, off their outstanding Start Here debut LP).

Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood are slated to return as co-hosts for the awards show, taking place at Nashville's Bridgestone Arena Nov. 4 and airing on ABC at 8/7c.


The nominations are as follows:

Note: More nominations to be announced soon. Stay tuned for updates to the list!


Entertainer Of The Year

Garth Brooks

Luke Bryan

Kenny Chesney

Eric Chruch

Miranda Lambert


Female Vocalist Of The Year

Kelsea Ballerini

Miranda Lambert

Kacey Musgraves

Carrie Underwood

Lee Ann Womack


Male Vocalist Of The Year

Dierks Bentley

Luke Bryan

Eric Church

Blake Shelton

Chris Stapleton


Group Of The Year

Lady Antebellum

LIttle Big Town

Rascal Flatts

The Band Perry

Zac Brown Band


Duo Of The Year

Brothers Osborne

Dan + Shay

Florida Georgia Line

Maddie & Tae

Thompson Square


Album Of The Year

(Award goes to Artist and Producer(s))

Old Boots, New Dirt, Jason Aldean (Produced by Michael Knox; Broken Bow)

Pageant Material, Kacey Musgraves (Produced by Kacey Musgraves, Luke Laird, and Shane McAnally; Mercury Nashville)

Pain Killer, Little Big Town (Produced by Jay Joyce; Capitol Records Nashville)

The Big Revival, Kenny Chesney (Produced by Buddy Cannon and Kenny Chesney;Blue Chair Records/Columbia Nashville)

Traveller, Chris Stapleton (Produced by Dave Cobb and Chris Stapleton; Mercury Nashville)


Song Of The Year

(Award goes to Songwriter(s))

American Kids, Kenny Chesney (Songwriters: Rodney Clawson, Luke Laird, Shane McAnally)

Girl Crush, Little Big Town (Songwriters: (Hillary Lindsey, Lori McKenna, Liz Rose)

Like a Cowboy, Randy Houser (Songwriters: Randy Houser, Brice Long)

Like a Wrecking Ball, Eric Church (Songwriters: Casey Beathard, Eric Church)

Take Your Time, Sam Hunt (Songwriters: Sam Hunt, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne)


Single Of The Year

(Award goes to Artist and Producer(s))

American Kids, Kenny Chesney (Produced by Buddy Cannon and Kenny Chesney; Blue Chair Records/Columbia Nashville)

Girl Crush, Little Big Town (Produced by Jay Joyce; Capitol Records Nashville)

I Don't Dance, Lee Brice (Produced by Lee Brice; Curb Records)

Take Your Time, Sam Hunt (Produced Zach Crowell and Shane McAnally; MCA Nashville)

Talladega, Eric Church (Produced by Jay Joyce and Arturo Buenahora, Jr.; EMI Records Nashville)


New Artist Of The Year

Sam Hunt

Maddie & Tae

Thomas Rhett

Chris Stapleton

Kelsea Ballerini


Musical Event Of The Year

(Award goes to each artist)

Django + Jimmie (album); Willie Nelson and Merle Haggard

Lonely Tonight; Blake Shelton and Ashley Monroe

Raise 'Em Up; Keith Urban and Eric Chruch

Smokin' + Drinkin'; Miranda Lambert and Little Big Town

Wild Child; Kenny Chesney and Grace Potter


Musician Of The Year

Sam Bush, mandolin

Jerry Douglas, dobro

Paul Franklin, steel guitar

Dann Huff, guitar

Mac McAnally, guitar


Music Video Of The Year

Biscuits, Kacey Musgraves (Directed by Marc Klasfeld)

Girl Crush, Little Big Town (Directed by Karla Welch and Matthew Welch)

Girl in a Country Song, Maddie & Tae (Directed by TK McKamy)

Little Red Wagon, Miranda Lambert (Directed by Trey Fanjoy)

Something in the Water, Carrie Underwood (Directed by Raj Kapoor)


Stay tuned for music updates. Be sure to follow @Popdust and @JasonTheScott on Twitter!

Show Comments ()
Trending Articles
© 2020 Popdust Inc. All Rights Reserved.