Call It a Comeback: New Music From All Your Nostalgic Favorites

Check out six of this week's returns, reissues, and reunion album announcements.

Among the steady stream of new music that's come out so far in (*Arcade Fire voice*) the month of May, this week brought returns, reissues, and comebacks from some sorely missed artists.

Take a look at six of this week's releases from musical vets who have either returned after spending time out of the public eye, or are simply reinventing their sound.

1. Phantom Planet - "Balisong"

The LA-based indie rock band popularized for writing The OC's theme song are back with a new single, "Balisong," inspired by lead singer Alex Greenwald's obsession with a butterfly knife. This is the "California" group's first new music since their excellent 2008 album, Raise the Dead, the follow-up to 2004's underrated self-titled. Phantom Planet has a new album in the works, but haven't announced an official release date yet. It's safe to say that "Balisong" is a promising preview of what is shaping up to be a tremendous reunion record.

2. Tool - "Descending" and "Invisible" (Not Officially Released)

Tool debuted their first new music in over a decade during their headlining set at Welcome To Rockville. The prog rockers played two new songs, "Descending' and "Invisible," from their upcoming new album. They also officially confirmed the release date for the anticipated new LP, which we now know is due out August 30th, but they haven't disclosed any other details.

3. Blink 182 - "Blame it On My Youth"

The San Diego pop-punk veterans (minus Tom DeLonge, who is trying to prove once and for all that Aliens DO exist as well as releasing new music with Angels & Airwaves) are back with a slightly different sound in a new song called "Blame it On My Youth." This is the first glimpse at their forthcoming album, which is supposed to sound "a lot more aggressive," according to what Mark said in an interview withNME. The three-piece –– made up of Mark Hoppus, Travis Barker, and Alkaline Trio's Matt Skiba –– are set to go on tour with Lil Wayne this summer.

4. Silversun Pickups - "Freakazoid"

Last month, Silversun Pickups shared the first single, "It Doesn't Matter Why," off of their upcoming album, Widow's Weeds, the follow-up to 2014's Better Nature. This week, the "Lazy Eye" musicians are sharing another glimpse of the album with a slow-burning new track called "Freakazoid." The band's new LP will be released June 7 via New Machine Recordings.

5. Michael Stipe - "Your Capricious Soul" and "Drive to the Ocean" (Not Officially Released)

R.E.M. frontman Michael Stipe previewed new material while opening for Patti Smith. During the performance, he played three new tracks –– "Your Capricious Soul," "Drive to the Ocean," and an untitled track.

6. Brian Eno with Daniel Lanois and Roger Eno - "Like I Was A Spectator"

Brian Eno announced that he will be reissuing and expanding the album he made with Daniel Lanois and his brother Roger Eno, "Apollo: Atmospheres & Soundtracks," for the 50th anniversary of the Apollo II moon landing. This will include 11 new tracks, which will comprise a new album entitled For All Mankind. They promoted the new release with the video for one of the new tracks called "Like I Was A Spectator," which features rare NASA footage. The remastered edition (including the new album) is out July 19th.

Sara is a music and culture writer.

POP⚡DUST |

New Releases From Shawn Mendes, Vampire Weekend and More

Annika Grace Asks If There's "Anybody Out There"

Now in Theaters: 5 New Movies for the Weekend of May 10th


Blink-182 Finds a New Sound with 'Blame it on My Youth'

The band adopts a new sound for an ode to their roots

Blink-182 is back with new music for the first time in three years.

Their latest single, "Blame it on My Youth," just dropped and it is sure to garner plenty of mixed reactions, especially from longtime fans of the band.

This song is a far cry from the Blink-182 that streaked and cursed their way to superstardom in the late '90s. It is nothing like the Blink-182 that tugged on our heartstrings with a freshly macabre take on pop-punk in the early aughts. And it is a departure from the Blink-182 that attempted to recapture the magic of their youthful San Diego sound on their last album, 2016's (tepidly received) California. The band has gone through many changes throughout the years—most notably with the loss of founding member and guitarist, Tom Delonge (who left the band to join forces with the Pentagon in hopes of proving the existence of aliens) and the induction of Alkaline Trio's Matt Skiba to take his place—but "Blame it on My Youth" marks the first time that the band has significantly redefined the signature Blink sound since the 2002 release of the group's self-titled LP.

On their new single, however, the trio sheds most of their pop-punk roots; opting, instead, to serve up a song that sounds more like an indie-fueled pop-rock tune than anything else. Somewhat ironically, though, the song is an ode to growing up punk rock. Bassist-slash-vocalist (and only remaining original member of the band), Mark Hoppus sings, "I wasn't born with the rich blood / I started out with plenty of nothing at all / I got stuck in the thick mud / The flash flood, punk rock, and the alcohol" over relatively toned-down, arpeggiated guitar chords. The song proceeds to open up into a big, anthemic chorus with plenty of chanted group vocals—a sound which, stripped of its context, sounds more like Imagine Dragons than it does Blink-182.

Whether you love or loathe the song, it's definitely good to see Blink branching out into new territory again, breaking free of expectation to give us yet another phase in the band's 27-year evolution.

Blame It On My Youth

Dustin DiPaulo is a writer and musician from Rochester, New York. He received his MFA in Creative Writing from Florida Atlantic University and can most likely be found at a local concert, dive bar, or comedy club (if he's not getting lost somewhere in the woods).

POP⚡DUST |

Children of Celebrities: Famous Without Their Consent

Celebrate Mental Health Month With These 5 YouTubers

A Bitter Kind of Happiness: Vampire Weekend's New Album, Track by Track