Vote for Popdust's 2019 Best K-Pop Group Award

Which K-Pop group is your favorite?

Unless you've been living without wifi, television, or any access to the world at large for the past several years, you probably have at least dabbled in the world of K-Pop by now.

K-Pop, simply put, is Korean pop music. But in reality, it's so much more than that. It's an art form, a spectacle, a phenomenon, and a multi-billion dollar industry. K-Pop groups eat, sleep, and breathe their craft, dancing more skillfully than just about any western group and releasing pop songs so catchy that you don't need to speak Korean to get the words stuck in your head. But with so many K-Pop groups out there, is it possible to say which group is the absolute best? Well, we'll leave that up to you. Vote below for your favorite K-Pop group!


EXO is made up of nine members: Xiumin, Suho, Lay, Baekhyun, Chen, Chanyeol, D.O., Kai and Sehun. SM Entertainment formed EXO in 2011 and debuted in 2012. Their music is a mix of hip-hop, rap, EDM, and R&B, and they release music in Korean, Mandarin, and Japanese.


This incredible South Korean girl group was formed by YG Entertainment, debuting in 2016 with single album Square One, which included "Whistle," their first number one hit. The group is comprised of Jisoo, Jennie, Rosé, and Lisa.


Jin, Suga, J-Hope, RM, Jimin, V, and Jungkook form perhaps the most popular K-Pop group: Bangtan Boys AKA BTS. This 7 member group formed in Seoul in 2013, and have since gone on to help popularize K-Pop across the world.


MONSTA X is composed of seven members: Shownu, Wonho, Minhyuk, Kihyun, Hyungwon, Joohoney[2], and I.M.

From South Korea and assembled by Starship Entertainment, the boy band was formed through the 2015 reality show No.Mercy.


This group of talented musicians was formed in South Korea by JYP Entertainment through the 2015 reality show Sixteen. The nine members of the group are Nayeon, Jeongyeon, Momo, Sana, Jihyo, Mina, Dahyun, Chaeyoung, and Tzuyu. The group debuted on October 20, 2015, with The Story Begins.


This duo, whose name stands for Tong Vfang Xien Qi, is comprised of U-Know Yunho and Max Changmin. They offer a wide multicultural appeal, releasing songs in many different languages. They are known as Tohoshinki for their Japanese releases, and are sometimes referred to as DBSK, an abbreviation of their Korean name Dong Bang Shin Ki which roughly translates to "Rising Gods of the East."


Got7 is a South Korean boy band formed by JYP Entertainment, composed of JB, Mark, Jackson, Jinyoung, Youngjae, BamBam, and Yugyeom. They've been around since January 2014 when they released their first EP, Got It? They're known for their incredible stage performances which incorporate martial arts.


Members of this boy band—which debuted in 2015 with Pledis Entertainment—are Woozi, Wonwoo, Vernon, Mingyu, Jun, Hoshi, The8, Joshua, Jeonghan, Dino, S.Coups, and Seungkwan. This group is known for self-producing, as many of the members are actively involved in songwriting, choreographing, and producing their own work.


Tomorrow X Together (TXT) is a South Korean boy band formed by Big Hit Entertainment. The group consists of 5 members: Yeonjun, Soobin, Beomgyu, Taehyun, and Huening Kai.

Music Features

Azealia Banks and the Dangers of the "Angry Black Woman" Trope

After posting cryptic messages on her Instagram story, it's clear that many of Azealia Banks's behaviors were a cry for help.

Content warning: This article contains depictions of suicidal ideation.

Eight years ago, Azealia Banks was positioned to be the next big thing in hip-hop.

The Harlem rapper's debut single, "212," had spread through the Internet like wildfire. Banks was only 20 years old at the time and had just left her record label, XL Recordings, due to creative conflicts. Despite being strapped for cash and admittedly depressed, Banks released "212" as a free download from her website. The unforgettable hip-house track would reinvigorate her tumultuous music career.

Keep Reading Show less

Frozen fever is in full effect, and absolutely nobody is safe -- not even the K-pop world. The signature song from the Disney blockbuster, "Let It Go," performed by Idina Menzel, enters South Korea's official singles chart at No. 1 this week, while a second version of the song rises to No. 4. Additionally, the Demi Lovato version is also charting at No. 54.

Apparently, this is the first time in the history of the Gaon chart that a foreign, English-language song has topped the charts. The vast majority of all the music that charts in Korea is Korean, so it's rare for foreign songs to even crack the top 100, let alone reach No. 1, so this is a HUGE achievement for Frozen.

Last week's No. 1 single, Hyorin's "Hello," falls one spot to No. 2, while Ga-In's comeback track, "Fxxk U," enters at No. 3. This makes "Fxxk U" Ga-In's fifth top three single as a lead artist, further solidifying her status as one of K-pop's top female soloists.

Girl's Day's "Something" holds strong at No. 6, while Rain's sleeper hit, "La Song," rises one spot to No. 8. Both songs have shown a lot of longevity, which can also be said for AOA's "Miniskirt," which climbs one spot this week for a new peak of No. 11.

SPICA's "You Don't Love Me" debuts at No. 16 to become the second highest-charting song of their career so far ("Tonight" reached at No. 10 last year), while TVXQ's sassy "Something" slips to No. 17.

Sunny Hill's "Don't Say Anything" manages to rise ten spots to No. 24, but the increase isn't enough to save it from being the group's lowest-charting single since relaunching in 2011 with "Midnight Circus."

Both Rainbow Blaxx and Dal Shabet fall five spots each this week: "Cha Cha" is down to No. 25, while Dal's "B.B.B." slips to No. 32.

Check out this week's new K-pop hits, below!

No. 1. Idina Menzel - Let It Go

No. 3. Ga-In - Fxxk U

No. 11. AOA - Miniskirt

No. 16. SPICA - You Don't love Me

No. 24. Sunny Hill - Don't Say Anything